My words in sound

January 7, 2009 at 12:41 | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Aside from some captured freestyles this is the first verbalized music that I’ve done in quite some time. On one account I was asked to rap on a beat for a mixtape that an internet acquantaince is putting out. On the other I was sitting in a friend’s apartment alone with a guitar.

I wrote the lyrics on my cell phone, and saved them as a text message while I was listening to the first track–serious banger–off of Peter Bjorn and John’s recent Seaside Rock. Chris was hospitable enough to track the vocals for me. The second half of the track is a freestyle.

Rap.

The guitar song is entirely improvised, although I’ve probably played the progression before. I can’t say for sure as my mind has a really hard time grasping melody. I’m fine to pick something up and play a melody, but understanding the correlation between frets/keys and the notes they produce is beyond me. Also my common freestyle crutches make their appearances: because, talking about time traveling, not really.

Guitar.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

