I do what I want

December 11, 2008 at 18:39 | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

These days, I write in this thing pretty rarely.

Here are three recent works in text that have accompanying drawings, but I don’t have my muthafuckin scanner, so here they are nothing but text:

I saw a man throw a piece of trash on the ground. As I was walking towards him I felt the urge to tell him, “Good use of the trash can.” When I walked closer to him I saw that he had a tear tattooed on his right cheek, and that urge dissipated.

I saw a woman eating at Whole Foods. She was also feeding her baby at the same time.

[fucking human garbage that I wanted to tell how dumb she was, but instead I wrote this]”And then some dude came in and started playing the piano, and, like, I just wanted to lay down and go to sleep.” “And, like that really made me upset. That’s why I’m so upset.”[/fucking human garbage that I wanted to tell how dumb she was, but instead I wrote this]

This is a conceptual piece about desire, and objectifying subjective things:

1.) Wait until you want to eat some kind of sweet treat that you don’t normally indulge in.
2.) Plan to eat it, and go about buying or making it.
3.) Don’t eat it, just put it in a big jar.

I was in Miami for the first 1.5 weeks of the month of December. My time there was so loaded with reunion, stimulation, laughter, learning, growth, joy, and flat out fun that it changed my impression of this year. In fact I will now make an extreme statement: my life can be measured as before and after that 1.5 weeks.

Today I got a last minute email invitation to come and sit in on a class where Tony Conrad would be speaking. My minimalist bells went off, and I was there. 2 great parts:

Right before I left he talked about how community flourishes when representations of it are fed back into it.

His response to this question, “When you were part of Theatre for Eternal Music did you all realize that you were part of a distinct element of musical history, or did it just seem like you were doing what you do?”

This question has been burning inside of me for ages. When you’re in the midst of creating history as an artist do you realize it, and if so how does it manifest?His response:

“We knew that what we were doing was different from everything else, and we loved it.”

I’m working on a series of three short compositions for a Citizen Scholar video project. I’ll post the finished versions to the enunpau blog when they’re all done. I have this Billy cobham record with some breaks on it, but the motherfucker is all staticced out, despite the fact that it appears to be in decent shape. I gotta clean that thing.

I’ve been reciting this line from an otherwise non-existent rap for the last few months:

I can’t get with it cause I’ve been with it/ and if you wanna try and test then I can end the shit

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. why is it stupid to feed your baby and eat at the same time? glad your 1.5 weeks was monumental. i’ve had the type of 1.5 weeks where someone says to me “checkmate” and i only then realize we weren’t playing checkers.

    hope to see you soon!

  2. Seperate incidents. The human garbage one was an overheard conversation at Tisch.


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.