While I was driving today, and also about other things to do with driving

December 20, 2007 at 23:45 | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I grew up in South Florida. Here, it is nearly neccessary to drive when traveling outside of one’s immediate neighborhood. So, growing up here, I spent a lot of my waking hours on highways. Spending long periods of time on the highway is an interesting phenomenon because it gives an interestring perspective on both space and time. Time and space are neither ‘here’ nor ‘now’ because they are spread out in points on the road. A point in time that is ahead of one, is likewise ahead of one in space; it is possible to see the ‘future’ while driving on the highway. Similarly, the past becomes a visible wake, viewed through one’s mirror.

I don’t think that people are getting super poiwers, or that it takes much to get inside of this perspective aside from driving for long stints on highways. Just commenting that it provides a unique tool for understanding being alive on Earth in America.

On a Related Note:

I’ve started planning a new music project. I don’t want to reveal too much, but the premise is dangerous musics. I should be clear that they are dangerous in the fact that they are documents of musics taking place in locations that are unlike traditional musical spaces. It is similar to the danger of eating uncooked food.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.