And on and on…

October 3, 2006 at 17:24 | Posted in Documentation of things, Grad school update, new york, Performances/Exhibitions, Things related to John Cage | 2 Comments

My contributions to this blog have been less than regular of late.

I recently moved into a studio apartment hwere I live by myself; the kitchen is clean, and so is the bathroom. they will stay this way.

My last performance as interesting to say the least. I have discussed it with a few people of late so I think I have an adequate perspective on it.
This was the performance:I had a sneaker. Inside of the sneaker was an ipod shuffle that was playing my latest composition, Not my Brilliance., and a stereo contact mic. The ipod was connected to a set of headphones, and the mics went to a PA. I had a small sign that gave the title of the performance and asked audience member to use the headphones. I was drawing on the sneakers. Most people did not realize that I was performing, many people performed while I performed, and music was played through the PA while I performed. While all of this was difficult for the normatized conception of artist/performer that resides somewhere within me, it was at the same time quite enjoyable. My performances have gradually transformed from a situation where I present a supposedly captive audience with an emobdied artifact/ideology, to situations where I am making equal demands on both myseld and the audience to access the performance. By access I mean that the performances I have created of late do not neccesarily contain any agency tha allows them to becomes spectacle, or even rise to the din of their setting; I have essentially located myself/myperformance within a quiet ontology. The performance becomes challenging for me because I ahve to deal with the fact that no one realizes that it’s going on, and people are even sitting on/standing on portions of it.
Today I spoke with Nelson Hallonquist about this notion of a quiet ontology and he pointed out one common aspect of performance that has always disturbed me: the congratulatory audience. As Mr. hallonquist so deftly pointed out, a quiet ontology provides agency against congratulatory practices, which is a relief, and in some sense a goal.
I will be performing the second half of this work next month, however this time–after Shimpei Takeda–I will add a live feed of the illustration to a big-screen television. I am not entirely sure how this will affect the perceptibility of my performance, but I look forward to it.

Selling beer is a job that I have.

Holler at your boy.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i googled you to get here. i wish i had been at the performance, but in a way i think that i would have (in my understanding of your quirks) gotten it a little too much and maybe upset the effect(?)
    what happened to you reminds me of an underground hip hop concert gone awry; 30 people on stage, all talking/rapping at the same time, each somehow with a mic and a towel through which sonic pandemonium are construed.

    couldn’t find your myspace by the way.

    …in my too $hort drop..

  2. what happened to you reminds me of being invisible.
    which isn’t always bad but is sometimes frustrating.
    non-applause is eventually more rewarding.
    how much for some granger-painted kicks?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

