So, adios…

June 13, 2006 at 22:18 | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I am drinking vodka with cranberry juice right now, and finishing up the last of my packing. I am still a bit out of sorts, and have litle insight into life that I can offer. I suppose that should change quite soon.
I am currently reading Camera Lucida by Roland Barthes. The book is required reading for my first class, “Introduction to Performance Studies.”
Over the weekend I played the traps for the first time in about a year. It was interesting to an extent, but it doesn’t hold much of my interest, nor does a ‘traditional’ notion of playing music e.g.; you me and possibly some other people ‘keeping a groove.’ I do, however hold an interest in music of a more avant garde nature. People playing music together can be a great thing, but I feel like approaching it with an alliance to the efforts of the past seems banal. With certainty, my efforts and alliances are not of a codifying nature, they are merely what stimulate me, and cause me to have those experiences which are so patently ‘art.’

Goodbye South Florida, againd and again…

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very much looking forward to your arrival.

    I just started reading Barthes’s Mythologies for the second time. I quit half-way through last time. If I make it out the other side, we’ll have to trade.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

